The Chair of the AISC is Emeritus Professor Tracey Horton AO, appointed in November 2019.

The AISC is made up of 10 Board members comprising Commonwealth nominees, a rotating position for peak industry representatives bodies and members nominated by State and Territory Ministers.

Emeritus Professor Tracey Horton AO

Emeritus Professor Tracey Horton AO

Committee Chair, Commonwealth nominee

Tracey is a Non-Executive Director of The GPT Group and the Australian Institute of Company Directors National Board.  She is a Commissioner of the Tourism Commission of Western Australia, and a member of the Australian Government Takeovers Panel and Bain & Company WA Advisory Board. She was Chairman of ASX-listed Navitas until July 2019 and the former Dean of UWA Business School.

Ms Tara Diamond

Ms Tara Diamond

Commonwealth nominee

  • Executive Director Industry Services, Australian Mines and Metals Association
  • Advisory Group Member, Federal Government Apprenticeships Advisory Group
  • Former Owner / Managing Director of DiaTel Pty Ltd


Ms Megan Lilly

Ms Megan Lilly

Peak Industry Body Representative

  • Head of Education & Training for The Australian Industry Group
  • Board Member, National Apprentice Employment Network
  • Deputy Chair, WorldSkills Australia
  • Member of the Australian College of Educators
  • Member of the Australia Pacific Training Coalition
  • Former member of the Australian Qualifications Framework (AQF) Review Panel
  • Former member of the Australia India Education Council, including Chairing the Skills Working Group
  • Former member, AQF Council
  • Former member, Queensland Ministerial Commission
  • Former member, Victorian Skills Commission
  • Former member of the National Skills Standards Council
  • Former member of the National Quality Council (NQC)
  • Former Chair of the Joint COAG-NQC Working Group – VET Products for the 21st Century
Mr Vince Ball

Mr Vince Ball

Nominated member for the Australian Capital Territory

  • Executive Director ACT Regional Building & Construction Industry Training Council
  • Chair Tuggeranong Sustainable Living Trade Training Centre
  • Member of the ACT Building Regulatory Advisory Committee (BRAC)
  • Former Chair, ACT Vocational College (Canberra Institute of TAFE)
  • Former Chair, Building Licensing Board
  • Former Member, Construction Advisory Board CIT
  • Former Member, Electrical Licensing Board
Image of Liz Beattie

Liz Beattie

Nominated member for Victoria

Liz was a member of the Victorian Legislative Assembly from 1999 – 2014. Positions she held include:

  • Parliamentary Secretary to the Premier
  • Parliamentary Secretary for Education
  • Parliamentary Secretary for Planning
  • Parliamentary Secretary for Tourism and Sports

Liz also chaired and participated in Parliamentary Committee work, including Law Reform, Scrutiny of Acts and Regulations and Drugs and Crime Prevention.

Liz is a member of the Victoria University (VU) Council and Chair of the Vice Chancellors West of Melbourne Advisory Committee. Liz is also a member of the Infrastructure and Planning Committee.

Liz is also a Trust Member of the Greater Metropolitan Cemetery Trust (GMCT), she chairs the Community Advisory Committee and is a member of Executive Remuneration Committee.

Liz is a Graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors (GAICD).

Professor Trevor Cairney

Prof Trevor Cairney OAM

Nominated member for New South Wales

  • Immediate Past President, NSW Business Chamber
  • President & Chairman of the Board, NSW Business Chamber, 2016-18
  • Chair, Employment, Education & Training Committee, Australian Chamber of Commerce & Industry (ACCI), 2016 -
  • Chairman, Australian Business Lawyers & Advisors
  • Foundation member of the International Assessments Joint National Advisory Committee that oversees international schools testing on behalf of COAG
  • Current Australian Research Council reviewer in the Social Sciences
  • Head, Moore College Foundation, 2017 -
Mr Brett Schimming

Mr Brett Schimming

Nominated member for Queensland

  • CEO, Construction Skills Queensland
  • Fellow, Institute of Management
  • Fellow, Australian Institute of Company Directors
  • Director, Construction Training Centre
  • Former CEO, BIGA Ltd
  • Former Chair, Queensland Government VET Reforms Board


Mr Iain McDougall

Mr Iain McDougall

Nominated Member for Western Australia

  • General Manager, Hospitality Group Training WA
  • Member Industry Reference Committee Tourism, Travel & Hospitality (Skills IQ)
  • Director, National Apprentice Employment Network (NAEN)
  • Deputy Chairman, Apprentice Employment Network WA
  • Board Member, FutureNow, Creative and Leisure ITC
  • Advisory Group Member, Federal Government
  • Apprenticeships Advisory Group
  • Former Appointed Member, Training Accreditation Council WA
  • Former National Chairman, Group Training Australia


Image of Ms Lee Veitch

Ms Lee Veitch

Nominated member for Tasmania

  • Training and Education Specialist Advisor, Human Services Skills Organisation
  • Member South Australia Health, Disability, Aged Care & Community Services Skills Council
  • Member of the Board NSW CHSC ITAB
  • Workforce Planning and Development Consultant, Enable Consulting & Training Solutions
  • Former Member of Enrolled Nursing IRC 
  • Former Member of Direct Client Support IRC 
  • Member of the Key Industry Strategic Alliance – Skills Tasmania
  • Former Chair of the Board of Directors - Montagu Community Living Board.  Member of the Board for 10 years
  • Former Member of the Board – Job Futures Tasmania
  • Former Member UTas School of Nursing Advisory Committee
Ms Adrienne Nieuwenhuis

Ms Adrienne Nieuwenhuis

Nominated member for South Australia

  • Commissioner, Tertiary Education Quality and Standards Agency
  • Former Director, Office of Vice Chancellor and Strategic Programs, Chancellery, at the University of South Australia
  • Member of the South Australian Skills Commission
  • Former Chair of the Education and Service sector Industry Skills Council
  • Former member of the Higher Education Standards Panel
  • Former Director, Quality, Tertiary Education, Science and Research in the South Australian Department of Further Education, Employment, Science and Technology
  • Inaugural member of the National Skills Standards Council (2011-2013)
  • Inaugural member of the Higher Education Standards Panel (2011-2014)
Dr Don Zoellner

Dr Don Zoellner

Nominated member for the Northern Territory

  • Chair of the Industry Skills Advisory Council NT Board
  • Director and Board Chair Top End Group Training
  • Director Australian Skills Institute
  • Member NT Mental Health Review Tribunal
  • University Fellow Charles Darwin University
  • Member NT International Students Industry Group
  • Former director Enterprise and Career Education Foundation
  • Former member National Advisory Council on Suicide Prevention