Disability Support Industry Reference Committee

On this page

The Disability Support IRC has been established to respond to the increasing demand for disability support workers, driven in particular by the rollout of the National Disability Insurance Scheme (NDIS). The IRC’s work includes addressing the current and future competencies and skill requirements for new workers entering the sector and existing staff needing to upskill in the vocational education and training (VET) and sector.

The Disability Support IRC is responsible for:

  • reviewing and updating national training package qualifications, skill sets and units of competency needed by the disability support sector
  • working with other IRCs which have an interest in qualifications relevant to the disability support sector to ensure industry needs are considered and met.

The Disability Support IRC is supported by SkillsIQ (a Skills Service Organsiation). For more information about the IRC and how you can get involved, please contact SkillsIQ.

While it was not possible to include every nominee on the IRC, it is important to remember that the IRC will consult widely with all interested stakeholders and existing IRCs as appropriate to progress the work of the committee.

In addition, the Disability Support IRC may establish technical advisory committees on an as-needs basis to support the work of the IRC. SkillsIQ will conduct a separate nominations process for these committees once established.

Further information about the role of IRCs and how they will operate can be found in the IRC Operating Framework.

You are also welcome to submit any questions to the AISC Secretariat at industrypolicy1@education.gov.au.

Disability Support IRC structure


Organisation or area of expertise



Peak bodies, associations and Government


National Disability Insurance Agency (NDIA)

 Liz Neville


NDIS Quality and Safeguards Commission

Jo Grisard



Mental health

 Tina Smith


National Disability Services

Geoff Holden


Allied Health Professionals Australia (AHPA)

Catherine Olsson


Industry/ employers

Disability service providers

Ms Judy Williamson


Mr Benjamin Keast (Chair)



Rural/remote disability service provider

Mr Paul Morgan


Individuals, employers, peak bodies, associations

Assistive technologies expertise

Ms Robyn Chapman


Consumer advocacy group/body

Mr Ross Joyce


Employee representatives


Australian Services Union (ASU)

Ms Jan Primrose


Health Services Union (HSU)

Ms Leigh Svendsen (Deputy Chair)