About the Emergency Response Sub-committee


The Emergency Response Sub-committee (the sub-committee) was established on 3 April 2020 under the direction of the COAG Skills Council, to enable fast-tracked adjustments to qualifications and training package requirements and ensure that Australia’s Vocational Education and Training (VET) sector can quickly respond to areas of critical workforce and skill needs during the COVID-19 pandemic.

The priority of the sub-committee will be on national training products to support and skill key frontline workforces impacted by COVID-19. The Sub-committee is currently focused on areas of greatest need including aged care, disability support, health care, and early childhood education and care sectors, however other sectors may be considered in the future.

The sub-committee is engaging with industry, government and VET regulators during the COVID-19 pandemic to help provide national training solutions to fill critical skill gaps and achieve the best outcomes for industry, students, employers and jobseekers. Stakeholders will be kept informed of any restrictions, limitations or safeguards that need to be put into place to ensure quality of training

The sub-committee will be working collaboratively with Skills Service Organisations, Skills Organisations, Industry Reference Committees, State and Territory Authorities, Registered Training Organisations, Regulators and Peak Bodies to collect information on known and emerging issues and concerns that are affecting the VET sector as a result of the COVID-19 pandemic. Click here to provide feedback.

To discover the remit of the sub-committee, including focus, duration and functions, view the sub-committee Terms of Reference.

Emergency Response Sub-committee members

The Emergency Response Sub-committee is comprised of:

  • Chair, Emeritus Professor Tracey Horton
  • Dr Don Zoellner (NT)
  • Ms Adrienne Nieuwenhuis (SA)
  • Mr Brett Schimming (Qld)
  • Mr Scott Connolly (ACTU)
  • Ms Nadine Williams (Commonwealth)
  • Dr Simon Booth (SSON representative)