Water Industry Reference Committee

The Water IRC is responsible for national training package qualifications relevant to occupations involved in water industry operations (generalist, treatment, networks, source, irrigation, hydrography, trade waste), treatment (drinking water, waste water) and irrigation.

These qualifications are included in the NWP National Water Training Package.

The IRC will consult widely during any future training package development process providing opportunity for any interested parties to make a contribution.

Technical Advisory Committees may also be established to inform future work, utilising a broad range of stakeholders with technical and specific industry knowledge.

The Water IRC is supported by the Skills Service Organisation, Australian Industry Standards (AIS). For more information visit AIS.

Further information about the role of IRCs and how they operate can be found in the IRC Operating Framework.

The AISC has approved the following members for the Water IRC:

Organisation Type or Category Organisation or Area of Expertise Representative Coverage
Employer/Enterprise Sydney Water Mr Les Dallis NSW
Water Corporation WA Mr Neil Hooley WA
QLD Water Mr David Cameron QLD
Icon Water Mr Robert Allen (Deputy Chair) ACT
Power and Water Corporation NT Ms Lorna Black  NT
VIC Water Mr Peter Morison VIC
SA Water Mr Akhil Palta SA
TAS Water Ms Melissa Flynn TAS
Sector Expertise Large Regional Water Board Mr Anthony Evans VIC
Local water utilities Mr Jason Ip NSW
Employee representation/ Union Australian Services Union Mr David Scott National
Peak/Advisory/ Association Water Industry Operators Association of Australia Mr George Wall (Chair) National
Australian Water Association Ms Debra Henderson National
Water Services Association of Australia Mr Jeff Rigby National