Technician Support Services Industry Reference Committee

The Technicians Support Services IRC is responsible for national training package qualifications relevant to Audiometry, Cardiac Technology, Health Administration, Hospital Pharmacies, Medical Practice Assisting, Operating Theatre Support, Optometry, Pathology and Sterilisation Services.

These qualifications are included in the HLT Training Package.

The IRC will consult widely during any future training package development process providing opportunity for any interested parties to make a contribution.

Technical Advisory Committees may also be established to inform future work, utilising a broad range of stakeholders with technical and specific industry knowledge.

The Technicians Support Services IRC is supported by the Skills Service Organisation, SkillsIQ. For more information visit SkillsIQ.

Further information about the role of IRCs and how they operate can be found in the IRC Operating Framework.

The AISC has approved the following members for the Technicians Support Services IRC:

Organisation/Category Organisation  Representative Jurisdiction/State
(State and Territory Service Providers)
Fiona Stanley Hospital Ms Alma Cassells WA
Australian Private Hospitals Association Ms Kim Lally (Deputy chair) ACT
Sonic Healthcare Ms Jane O'Keefe NSW
Position vacant    
Position vacant    
Government NSW Ministry of Health Ms Tamara Lee NSW
Employee representation/ Union Australian Nursing and Midwifery Federation Ms Jodie Davis ACT
Health Services Union Ms Leigh Svendsen VIC
Peak/Advisory/ Association Royal College of Pathologists of Australasia Dr Tony Badrick (Chair) NSW
Society of Hospital Pharmacists of Australia Ms Lorah Hickman VIC
Federation Sterilising Research Advisory Councils of Australia Ms Elinor Radke   QLD
Australian Anaesthesia Allied Health Practitioners Ms Vicki Swaine  QLD
RTO Health Industry Training Ms Karyn Calcino   QLD
TAFE NSW, Sydney  Ms Athanasia (Soula) Siafakas    NSW