Sustainability Industry Reference Committee

The Sustainability IRC is responsible for national training package qualifications covering sustainable operations, environmental monitoring and technology, and competitive systems and practices. These qualifications focus on helping operations become more sustainable through improved productivity and efficiency and meeting their environmental responsibilities.

These qualifications are included in the MSS Sustainability Training Package.

The IRC will consult widely during any future training package development process, providing an opportunity for any interested parties to make a contribution.

Technical Advisory Committees may also be established to inform future work, utilising a broad range of stakeholders with technical and specific industry knowledge.

The Sustainability IRC is supported by the Skills Service Organisation IBSA Manufacturing. For more information visit IBSA Manufacturing.

Further information about the role of IRCs and how they operate can be found in the IRC Operating Framework.

The AISC has approved the following members for the Sustainability IRC:

Representative type Organisation or Area of Expertise Representative State/Territory/National
Peak/Advisory/ Association



Australian Industry Group (Ai Group) Mark Goodsell NSW
The Business Council for Sustainable Development Australia Andrew Petersen NSW
Energy Efficiency Council Vacant  
Employee Association


Australian Manufacturing Workers’ Union (AMWU) Ian Curry SA
Industry Growth Centre


Advanced Manufacturing Growth Centre (AMGC) Michael Grogan (Deputy Chair) VIC
Industry Expertise Enterprise/s where skills from Competitive Systems and Practices qualifications have been successful Daniel Giles WA
Peter Nemtsas (Chair) VIC
Expertise in Environmental Monitoring-Management Luke McConchie


Expertise in sustainable operations / environmental practices in the manufacturing sector Patricia Caswell VIC
Expertise in sustainable operations / environmental practices in any industry sector Bradley Anderson NSW
Bo Christensen VIC