Public Safety Industry Reference Committee

The Public Safety IRC is responsible for the national training package qualifications relevant to police, defence, firefighting, fire investigation, emergency services (including operations, response and leadership), disaster recovery, biosecurity, aquatic search and rescue and community safety.

These qualifications are components of the Police, Defence and Public Safety training packages.

The IRC will consult widely during any future training package development process providing opportunity for any interested parties to make a contribution.

Technical Advisory Committees may also be established to inform future work, utilising a broad range of stakeholders with technical and specific industry knowledge.

The Public Safety IRC is supported by the Skills Service Organisation, Australian Industry Standards Limited (AIS). For more information visit AIS.

Further information about the role of IRCs and how they operate can be found in the IRC Operating Framework.

The AISC has approved the following members for the Public Safety IRC:

Organisation Type Organisation Representative Coverage
Peak / Advisory / Association Australia New Zealand Council of Police Professionalisation Ms Jean Dyzel National
Australasian Fire & Emergency Service Authorities Council Ms Sandra Lunardi National
Australian Council of State & Territory Emergency Services Mr Mark Fishlock National
Government Australian Government, Department of Defence Ms Lynda Douglas (Deputy chair) National
Australian Government, Department of Agriculture and Water Resources Mr Jason Males National
Employee Representative United Firefighters Union Australia Mr Brendan Angwin National
Defence Force Welfare Association Mr Ken Grierson National
Police Federation of Australia Mr Mark Burgess (Chair) National
One position remains open for nomination from an employee association able to represent employees covered by the Public Safety training package    
Expertise Aquatic and marine search and rescue Mr Stephen Leahy National (NSW)
Emergency management Ms Carola Washbourne National (QLD , VIC)
Volunteer firefighting Mr Ian Gabites National (TAS)