Metalliferous Mining Industry Reference Committee

The Metalliferous Mining IRC is responsible for national training package qualifications relating to metalliferous mining industries. Metalliferous mining industries are involved in underground and open cut mining and processing for minerals including iron ore, copper, nickel, gold, silver, zinc, gemstones, uranium and mineral sands.

These qualifications are included in the RII - Resources and Infrastructure Training Package.

The IRC will consult widely during any future training package development process providing opportunity for any interested parties to make a contribution.

Technical Advisory Committees may also be established to inform future work, utilising a broad range of stakeholders with technical and specific industry knowledge.

The Metalliferous Mining IRC is supported by the Skills Service Organisation, PwC's Skills for Australia. For more information visit PwC's Skills for Australia.

Further information about the role of IRCs and how they operate can be found in the IRC Operating Framework.

The AISC has approved the following members for the Metalliferous Mining IRC:

Category Organisation Representative Jurisdiction
National peak body Minerals Council of Australia Mr Darryl Cooper QLD
State minerals councils / chambers Chamber of Minerals and Energy of Western Australia  Mr Nigel Haywood WA
State regulators Western Australian Department of Mines, Industry Regulation and Safety Mr Martin Ralph WA
State industry training advisory body or equivalent Resources Industry Training Council Ms Amanda Hamilton WA
Industry growth centre METS Ignited Ms Jodie Badcock (Chair) SA
Employee association Australian Manufacturing Workers' Union Mr Glenn McLaren WA
Australian Workers' Union Mr Shane Roulstone NSW
Industry expertise Blasting Orica Ms Naomi Carson VIC
Industry expertise Underground mining North Metropolitan TAFE (NMTAFE) Mr John Soubotian WA
Industry expertise Surface mining Mount Isa Mines Ms Vicki Anderson QLD
Statutory positions and / or mine management Rio Tinto Mr Aaron Gray (Deputy chair) SA
Industry expertise Resource processing BHP Mr Kamball Schafferius QLD