Who appoints Industry Reference Committees (IRCs) members?

The Australian Industry and Skills Committee (AISC) appoints IRC members after an open nomination process.

IRCs usually have around 12 members, all experts from their industry sector.

When considering members, the AISC looks for:

  • industry experience, skills and knowledge to consider training packages
  • a balance of representatives from around the country.

How long are IRC members appointed for?

IRC members are appointed for three-year terms, with the possibilty of being re-appointed for one extra year.

IRCs may also have allocated positions for particular organisations, such as industry peak bodies or industry regulators.

How are IRCs chaired?

Each IRC has a Chair and Deputy Chair. Candidates for these positions may be nominated by other members, or may put themselves forward. Both are elected by the IRC. Usually these positions are held for two years, with the option to re-elect for another two years.

In electing a Chair and Deputy Chair, IRC members should make every effort to agree on nominees. If everyone cannot agree on who to elect, a two-thirds majority vote can be used to decide.

Chairs have an important role to:

  • provide leadership to the IRC
  • be the IRC’s main contact for the AISC
  • work with the Skills Service Organisation (SSO) that provides support to the IRC
  • identify opportunities to communicate and consult with the IRC’s industry sectors.

The Deputy Chair performs the Chair’s role if the Chair is not available.

How are IRC members replaced?

IRC membership can change due to a:

  • member resigning
  • member leaving the organisation that they represent on the IRC, such as an industry peak body
  • member missing three consecutive meetings, without the Chair’s approval
  • formal AISC review process.

IRCs need to advise the AISC secretariat of any proposed membership changes outside a formal review process.

The AISC needs to approve any substantive changes, for example if nominations are required to fill a vacant position.

What happens when the AISC reviews IRC membership and structure?

From time-to-time, the AISC reviews IRC membership and structure to make sure IRCs fully represent their industry sector across Australia.

The AISC reviewed all IRCs during 2016–17 and refreshed IRC structures and memberships. The AISC considered proposed changes to structure and membership, based on consultation with existing IRC members, and broader industry stakeholders.

The aim was to make sure IRCs are providing relevant, up-to-date expertise to support the development of training packages for their industry sector.