Financial Services Industry Reference Committee

The Financial Services IRC is responsible for national training package qualifications relevant to the following industries within the financial services sector: Banking; Mortgage broking; Financial markets; Financial planning and advice; Insurance; Superannuation; Accounting and bookkeeping; Mercantile agents; and Trust administration.

These qualifications are included in the FNS – Financial Services Training Package.

The IRC will consult widely during any future training package development process, providing opportunity for interested parties to make a contribution.

Technical Advisory Committees may also be established to inform future work, utilising a broad range of stakeholders with technical and specific industry knowledge.

The Financial Services IRC is supported by the Skills Service Organisation PricewaterhouseCoopers Skills for Australia. For more information, visit Skills for Australia.

Further information about the role of IRCs and how they operate can be found in the IRC Operating Framework.

The AISC has approved the following members for the Financial Services IRC:

Category Organisation Representative Jurisdiction
Peak body Association of Superannuation Funds Australia Limited Mr Stefan Simunic NSW
Australian and New Zealand Institute of Insurance and Finance Ms Rebecca Slingo VIC
Australian Financial Markets Association Ms Nikita Dhanraj NSW
Certified Practicing Accountants Australia Ms Keddie Waller (Deputy chair) VIC
Financial, Administrative and Professional Services Training Council Incorporated Mr Allan Jones (Chair) WA
Financial Planning Association of Australia Ms Anne Palmer NSW
Employer / Enterprise Commonwealth Bank Ms Kareena Assem NSW
Industry Skills Advisory Council Northern Territory Ms Yvonne Webb NT
The Financial Services Academy Ms Gail Smith QLD
knowIT Group Mr Robert Lavery NSW
Union Finance Sector Union of Australia Ms Julia Angrisano NSW
Government Australian Taxation Office Ms Eileen Eaton TAS