Electrotechnology Industry Reference Committee

The Electrotechnology IRC is responsible for national training package qualifications relevant to installation, servicing, repair and maintenance of electrical and electronic equipment for industrial, commercial and domestic purposes, including electronics, electrical, communications, control systems, instrumentation, lifts, refrigeration and air conditioning, and renewable/sustainable energy, fire and security, appliances, gaming and rail. 

These qualifications are included in the UEE11 Electrotechnology Training Package.

The IRC will consult widely during any future training package development process providing opportunity for any interested parties to make a contribution.

Technical Advisory Committees may also be established to inform future work, utilising a broad range of stakeholders with technical and specific industry knowledge.

The Electrotechnology IRC is supported by the Skills Service Organisation, Australian Industry Standards Ltd. For more information visit AIS.

Further information about the role of IRCs and how they operate can be found in the IRC Operating Framework.

The AISC has approved the following members for the Electrotechnology IRC:

Category Organisation/Expertise Representative Coverage
Employer/Enterprise Loveday Electrical Ms Sarah Loveday QLD
Expertise Electrical Mr Paul Lowe – TAFE NSW NSW
Refrigeration & Air-conditioning Mr Noel Munkman - Australian Refrigeration Council VIC
Rail Signalling Mr Trevor Moore NSW
Renewable Energy Mr Pat Southwell - Clean Energy Council VIC
Instrumentation Industrial Control, Electronics & Computer Systems Position remains open for nomination  
Registered Training Organisation College of Electrical Training Mr Carl Copeland WA
State Industry Training Boards

The position will rotate every two years amongst states

Utilities Engineering Electrical Automotive Training Council Mr Peter Beveridge – Williams Electrical WA
Regulator Energy Safe Victoria also representing ERAC Mr Neil Fraser National
Employee Association Electrical Trades Union Mr Mark Burgess (Deputy Chair) National
Communications, Electrical & Plumbing Union Mr Maurice Graham National
Peak/Advisory/Association National Electrical & Communications Association Mr Larry Moore (Chair) National
Master Electricians Australia Mr Malcolm Richards National
Refrigeration & Air-conditioning Contractors Association Mr Kevin O’Shea National
Institute of Instrumentation Control & Automation Mr Graeme Murphy - TechRentals National