Electricity Supply Transmission, Distribution and Rail Industry Reference Committee

The Electricity Supply Transmission, Distribution and Rail IRC is responsible for national training package qualifications relevant to the installation, service, maintenance, diagnosis and repair of electrical cabling systems; apparatus and equipment in relation to: overhead distribution and transmission lines; power pole and easement management; system reliability and power quality; street lighting, demand management and the integration of embedded generation; cable jointing and equipment installation.

These qualifications are included in the UET12 Electricity Supply Industry – Transmission, Distribution and Rail Training Package.

The IRC will consult widely during any future training package development process providing opportunity for any interested parties to make a contribution.

Technical Advisory Committees may also be established to inform future work, utilising a broad range of stakeholders with technical and specific industry knowledge.

The Electricity Supply Transmission, Distribution and Rail IRC is supported by the Skills Service Organisation, Australian Industry Standards Limited (AIS). For more information visit AIS.

Further information about the role of IRCs and how they operate can be found in the IRC Operating Framework.

The AISC has approved the following members for the Electricity Supply Transmission, Distribution and Rail IRC:

Category Organisation/Expertise Representative Coverage


Western Power Mr Mike Millard-Hurst WA
TransGrid Ms Leonie McCallum NSW
AusNet Services Vacant TBC
Expertise Rail Traction Mr Peter Woods
Distribution and Linework Mr Gerard Coad TAS
Renewable Dr Anita Talberg National
Sector expertise as required Three positions remain open for nomination and will be filled on an as needs basis by the IRC to provide the required expertise  
State Industry Training Boards

The position will rotate every two years amongst states

ACT Electrotechnology and Energy Advisory Board Bob Taylor National


Regulator Energy Safe Victoria Mr Barry Heywood (Deputy Chair) VIC
Employee Association Electrical Trades Union Mr Mark Burgess National
Peak/Advisory/ Association Energy Networks Australia Dr Jill Cainey National