Electricity Supply Generation Industry Reference Committee

The Electricity Supply Generation IRC is responsible for national training package qualifications relevant to the production of electricity, encompassing activities from the point of supply/acceptance of energy resources and consumables to the point of exit of electrical energy and by-products of the generation processes. The Electricity Generation industry is rapidly diversifying with the sector characterised by a sustained period of privatisation of many State owned energy corporations and enterprises.

These qualifications are included in the UEP Electricity Supply Industry – Generation Sector Training Package.

The IRC will consult widely during any future training package development process providing opportunity for any interested parties to make a contribution.

Technical Advisory Committees may also be established to inform future work, utilising a broad range of stakeholders with technical and specific industry knowledge.

The Electricity Supply Generation IRC is supported by the Skills Service Organisation, Australian Industry Standards Ltd. For more information visit AIS.

Further information about the role of IRCs and how they operate can be found in the IRC Operating Framework.

The AISC has approved the following members for the Electricity Supply Generation IRC:


Organisation or Expertise



Employer / Enterprise

AGL Energy Vacant TBC
Delta Electricity Mr Tony Saxby (Interim Chair) NSW
Origin Energy Mr Tony Hawes QLD, VIC, SA, NSW
Two positions remain open for nomination from an employer/enterprise that primarily operates in a jurisdiction not already represented.  

Training Organisation

Thomson Bridge Richard Harvey VIC

State Industry Training Boards The position will rotate every two years amongst states

Industry Skills Advisory Council Northern Territory Ms Yvonne Webb NT


Renewable Dr Anita Talberg National
Remote Area Generation Position remains open for nomination  

Employee Association

Electrical Trades Union Mr Mark Burgess National


Electrical Regulatory Authorities Council Ms Vanessa Garbett National