Coal Mining Industry Reference Committee

The Coal Mining IRC is responsible for national training package qualifications relevant to coal mining operations. Coal is mined in both underground and open cut operations with the latter of these sharing qualifications with open cut metalliferous mining and quarrying.

These qualifications are included in the RII - Resources and Infrastructure Training Package.

The IRC will consult widely during any future training package development process providing opportunity for any interested parties to make a contribution.

Technical Advisory Committees may also be established to inform future work, utilising a broad range of stakeholders with technical and specific industry knowledge.

The Coal Mining IRC is supported by the Skills Service Organisation, PwC's Skills for Australia. For more information visit PwC's Skills for Australia.

Further information about the role of IRCs and how they operate can be found in the IRC Operating Framework.

The AISC has approved the following members for the Coal Mining IRC:

Category Organisation Representative Jurisdiction
National peak body Minerals Council of Australia Darryl Cooper (Chair) QLD
State minerals council NSW Minerals Council Matthew Wray NSW
State agencies / regulators New South Wales Mining and Petroleum Competence Board Andrew Palmer NSW
Queensland Mines Inspectorate  Vacant  
Mines rescue services NSW Mines Rescue Matthew Moore NSW
Industry growth centre METS Ignited and National Energy Resources Australia Jodie Badcock SA
Employee association Construction, Forestry, Maritime, Mining and Energy Union Stephen Watts QLD
Australian Manufacturing Workers' Union (Western Australia Branch) Glenn McLaren WA
Australian Workers' Union Gavin Lawrence QLD
Individual with expertise in blasting BHP Vacant  
Individual with expertise in underground  coal mining Glencore Coal Assets Australia Doug Kennedy QLD
Ensham Resources Duncan Campbell QLD
Individual with expertise in surface coal mining BHP Operations Services  Emma Haigh QLD
BHP Scott Layton (Dep Chair) QLD
Individual with expertise in coal processing Sedgman Rod Van Moolenbroek QLD