Automotive Light Vehicle Industry Reference Committee

The Automotive Light Vehicle IRC is responsible for national training package qualifications relevant to the following sectors within the automotive light vehicle industry: Automotive electrical sector that services, repairs and overhauls electrical systems and components for vehicles and machinery  and all facets of electrical work, including air-conditioning services, battery sales and sales of new and overhauled parts; Automotive mechanical and specialisation sector that services and repairs light vehicles; and Automotive passenger vehicle manufacturing sector and component parts suppliers.

These qualifications are included in the AUR – Automotive Retail, Service and Repair Training Package and the AUM – Automotive Manufacturing Training Package.

The IRC will consult widely during any future training package development process, providing opportunity for interested parties to make a contribution.

Technical Advisory Committees may also be established to inform future work, utilising a broad range of stakeholders with technical and specific industry knowledge.

The Automotive Light Vehicle IRC is supported by the Skills Service Organisation PricewaterhouseCoopers Skills for Australia. For more information, visit Skills for Australia.

Further information about the role of IRCs and how they operate can be found in the IRC Operating Framework.

The AISC has approved the following members for the Automotive Light Vehicle IRC:

Category Organisation Representative Jurisdiction
Employers / Individuals / Peak organisations / Associations Institute of Automotive Mechanical Engineers Mr Peter Blanshard NSW
Australian Refrigeration Council Mr Rod Cumming VIC
Victorian Automobile Chamber of Commerce Mr Nigel Muller (Chair) VIC
Australian Association of Progressive Repairers Mr Greg Preston NSW
Australian Automotive Aftermarket Association Ms Lesley Yates VIC
Toyota Motor Corporation Australia Ms Pearl Lim VIC
KMART Tyre and Auto Ms Fiona Murphy (Deputy chair) NSW
Hyundai Motor Company Australia Pty. Ltd. Mr Rick Parker NSW
Association of Australasian Diesel Specialists Mr Ken Ringrose WA
Lonsdale Street Auto Electrics Pty. Ltd. Mr Martin Sanchez VIC
Key industry body Motor Trades Association of Australia Mr Paul Unerkov SA
Employee association Australian Manufacturing Workers' Union Mr Matt Christie VIC