Automotive Heavy Vehicle Industry Reference Committee

The Automotive Heavy Vehicle IRC is responsible for national training package qualifications relevant to the following sectors within the automotive heavy vehicle industry: Automotive mechanical heavy vehicle sector that services and repairs heavy vehicles, including agricultural machinery, heavy commercial vehicles and mobile plant machinery; and Automotive bus, truck and trailer manufacturing sector that includes component parts suppliers and the manufacturers of specialised vehicles, such as fire engines, street sweepers and emergency service vehicles.

These qualifications are included in the AUR – Automotive Retail, Service and Repair Training Package and the AUM – Automotive Manufacturing Training Package.

The IRC will consult widely during any future training package development process, providing opportunity for interested parties to make a contribution.

Technical Advisory Committees may also be established to inform future work, utilising a broad range of stakeholders with technical and specific industry knowledge.

The Automotive Heavy Vehicle IRC is supported by the Skills Service Organisation PricewaterhouseCoopers Skills for Australia. For more information, visit Skills for Australia.

Further information about the role of IRCs and how they operate can be found in the IRC Operating Framework.

The AISC has approved the following members for the Automotive Heavy Vehicle IRC:

Category Organisation Representative Jurisdiction
Employers / Individuals Department of Defence Mr Wayne Allan VIC
Thiess Mr Scott Randall  QLD
Institute of Automotive Mechanical Engineers Ms Louise Azzopardi NSW
Case New Holland Industrial Mr Darryl Piper NSW
Macmahon Holdings Limited Mr Dale Henry (Chair) WA
Kangan Institute TAFE Mr Colin Miller VIC
Key industry bodies Fuel Distributors of Western Australia Mr Graham Lock WA
Tractor and Machinery Association of Australia Mr Gary Northover VIC
Commercial Vehicle Industry Association of Australia Mr Phillip Hodges VIC
Construction and Mining Equipment Industry Group Mr Gavin Manning NSW
Employee association Australian Manufacturing Workers' Union Mr Bill Thanas QLD