Animal Care and Management Industry Reference Committee

The Animal Care and Management IRC is responsible for national training package qualifications relevant to veterinary services, animal breeding services, pet and companion animal services, captive wildlife operations, animal technology, hunting and trapping.

Animal care and management, especially animal welfare, has relevance to a number of sectors, including agriculture, racing, sport and recreation, medical research, local government and conservation. The new committee provides a central point for coordinated engagement across sectors.

These qualifications are included in the ACM Animal Care and Management Training Package.

The IRC will consult widely during any future training package development process providing opportunity for any interested parties to make a contribution.

Technical Advisory Committees may also be established to inform future work, utilising a broad range of stakeholders with technical and specific industry knowledge.

The Animal Care and Management IRC is supported by the Skills Service Organisation, Skills Impact. For more information visit Skills Impact.

Further information about the role of IRCs and how they operate can be found in the IRC Operating Framework.

The AISC has approved the following members for the Animal Care and Management IRC:

Organisation Category Organisation / Area of Expertise Representative Coverage
Area of Expertise


Veterinary and Related Services Vacant Position  TBA
Ms Belinda Smith NSW
Vacant Position  TBA
Animal Care, Handling and Welfare Vacant Position TBA
Ms Julie Fielder SA
Animal Breeding Services Vacant Position   TBA
Pet and Companion Animal Services Mr Brenton Myatt QLD
Ms Kaye Hargreaves  VIC
Exhibited Wildlife Operations Mr Robert Johnson National
Taronga Conservation Society Australia  Ms Elly Neumann National
Animal Technology Dr Tim Mather ACT
Animal Control and Regulation Mr Michael Butcher WA


Australian Veterinary Association Dr Julia Crawford (Chair) National
Veterinary Nurses Council Australia Inc. Ms Rebecca Coventry (Deputy Chair) National