Aerospace Industry Reference Committee

The Aerospace IRC is responsible for national training package qualifications relevant to aircraft and aircraft parts manufacturing, civilian aircraft repair and maintenance and military aircraft repair and maintenance.

These qualifications are in the MEA Aeroskills Training Package.

The IRC will consult widely during any future training package development process, providing opportunity for any interested parties to make a contribution.

Technical Advisory Committees may also be established to inform future work, utilising a broad range of stakeholders with technical and specific industry knowledge.

The Aerospace IRC is supported by the Skills Service Organisation IBSA Manufacturing. For more information visit IBSA Manufacturing.

Further information about the role of IRCs and how they operate can be found in the IRC Operating Framework.

The AISC has approved the following members for the Aerospace IRC:

Organisation Type or Category Organisation or Area of Expertise Representative Coverage
Employer/ Peak organisation/ Association


Qantas Airways Limited Mr Russell Burgess (Chair) National
Aviation Maintenance Repair Overhaul Business Association (AMROBA) Mr Ken Cannane National
Regional Aviation Association of Australia Mr Mike Higgins National
Department of Defence Ms Lynda Douglas National       
Small or regional airline operator Chartair Mr Ben Watkins NT & QLD


Australian Licensed Aircraft Engineers Association Mr Stephen Re National
Australian Manufacturing Workers’ Union Mr Paul Baxter National
Communication Electrical & Plumbing Union – Electrical Trades Division Mr Matt Murphy National
Australian Workers’ Union Mr Mark Fagan National
Government Regulator Civil Aviation Safety Authority Mr Michael McGill National
Industry Expertise Enterprises engaged in military aircraft repair and maintenance, including defence contract work Mr Robert McNeil (Deputy Chair) National
Mr Warren Bossie National
Aviation maintenance repair enterprise Ms Mary Brown QLD
Aviation maintenance repair enterprise - from SA or WA Mr Steven Wright National