Metalliferous Mining Industry Reference Committee

On this page

IRC membership details are updated each quarter.

The Metalliferous Mining IRC is responsible for national training package qualifications relating to metalliferous mining industries. Metalliferous mining industries are involved in underground and open cut mining and processing for minerals including iron ore, copper, nickel, gold, silver, zinc, gemstones, uranium and mineral sands.

These qualifications are included in the RII - Resources and Infrastructure Training Package.

The IRC will consult widely during any future training package development process providing opportunity for any interested parties to make a contribution.

Technical Advisory Committees may also be established to inform future work, utilising a broad range of stakeholders with technical and specific industry knowledge.

The Metalliferous Mining IRC is supported by the Skills Service Organisation, PwC's Skills for Australia. For more information visit PwC's Skills for Australia.

Further information about the role of IRCs and how they operate can be found in the IRC Operating Framework.

The AISC has approved the following members for the Metalliferous Mining IRC:

Category Organisation Representative Member Type  Jurisdiction
Peak/Advisory/Association Resources and Engineering Skills Alliance Jodie Badcock Chair SA
Peak/Advisory/Association Chamber of Minerals and Energy WA (CMEWA) Nigel Haywood Member WA
Union    Australian Manufacturing Workers' Union Glenn McLaren Member WA
Union    Australian Workers' Union Shane Roulstone Member NSW
Peak/Advisory/Association Minerals Council of Australia Scott Layton Member QLD
Individual Expert Aquirian Limited Naomi Carson Member VIC
Government Western Australian Department of Mines, Industry Regulation and Safety Martin Ralph Member WA
Peak/Advisory/Association Resources Industry Training Council Amanda Hamilton Member WA
Individual Expert North Metropolitan TAFE (NMTAFE) John Soubotian Member WA
Individual Expert Mount Isa Mines Vicki Anderson Member QLD
Individual Expert BHP Aaron Gray Deputy Chair SA
Individual Expert On-hold Member