Coal Mining Industry Reference Committee

On this page

The Coal Mining IRC is responsible for national training package qualifications relevant to coal mining operations. Coal is mined in both underground and open cut operations with the latter of these sharing qualifications with open cut metalliferous mining and quarrying.

These qualifications are included in the RII - Resources and Infrastructure Training Package.

The IRC will consult widely during any future training package development process providing opportunity for any interested parties to make a contribution.

Technical Advisory Committees may also be established to inform future work, utilising a broad range of stakeholders with technical and specific industry knowledge.

The Coal Mining IRC is supported by the Skills Service Organisation, PwC's Skills for Australia. For more information visit PwC's Skills for Australia.

Further information about the role of IRCs and how they operate can be found in the IRC Operating Framework.

The AISC has approved the following members for the Coal Mining IRC:

Category Organisation Representative Member Type Jurisdiction
Employee Association Construction, Forestry, Maritime, Mining and Energy Union Stephen Watts  Member QLD
Employee Association Australian Manufacturing Workers' Union Glenn McLaren  Member WA
Employee Association Australian Workers' Union Gavin Lawrence  Member  
Individual Expert   Vacant    
Individual Expert Glencore Coal Assets Australia Doug Kennedy  Member QLD
Individual Expert Ensham Resources Duncan Campbell  Member QLD
Individual Expert BHP Scott Layton  Deputy Chair QLD
Individual Expert Sedgman Rod Van Moolenbroek  Member QLD
Individual Expert BHP Emma Haigh  Member QLD
Peak/Advisory/Assoc. Minerals Council of Australia Darryl Cooper Chair QLD
Peak/Advisory/Assoc. NSW Minerals Council Matthew Wray  Member NSW
Peak/Advisory/Assoc. Coal Services Mines Rescue Matthew Moore  Member NSW
Peak/Advisory/Assoc. METS Ignited and National Energy Resources Australia Jodie Badcock  Member SA
Government New South Wales Mining and Petroleum Competence Board Andrew Palmer  Member NSW
Government Queensland Mines Inspectorate TBA Member QLD