Aerospace Industry Reference Committee

On this page

IRC membership details are updated each quarter.

The Aerospace IRC is responsible for national training package qualifications relevant to aircraft and aircraft parts manufacturing, civilian aircraft repair and maintenance and military aircraft repair and maintenance.

These qualifications are in the MEA Aeroskills Training Package.

The IRC will consult widely during any future training package development process, providing opportunity for any interested parties to make a contribution.

Technical Advisory Committees may also be established to inform future work, utilising a broad range of stakeholders with technical and specific industry knowledge.

The Aerospace IRC is supported by the Skills Service Organisation IBSA Manufacturing. For more information visit IBSA Manufacturing.

Further information about the role of IRCs and how they operate can be found in the IRC Operating Framework.  

The AISC has approved the following members for the Aerospace IRC:


Category Organisation Representative Member Type Jurisdiction
Employee Association Australian Workers’ Union (AWU) Mark Fagan  Member NSW
Employee Association Communications, Electrical and Plumbing Union (CEPU) Matt Murphy  Member NSW
Employee Association Australian Manufacturing Workers' Union (AMWU) Paul Baxter  Member QLD
Employee Association Australian Licensed Aircraft Engineers Association Stephen Re  Member NSW
Employer/Enterprise QANTAS Airways Russell Burgess Chair NSW
Individual Expert Chartair Ben Watkins  Member NT
Individual Expert BAE Systems Robert McNeil  Member NSW
Individual Expert NQ Aviation Services Mary Brown  Member QLD
Individual Expert SM TAFE Progressive Aviation Solutions Steven Wright  Member WA
Individual Expert Hawker Pacific Warren Bossie  Member NSW
Peak/Advisory/Assoc. Aviation Maintenance Repair Overhaul Business Association (AMROBA) Ken Cannane  Member NSW
Peak/Advisory/Assoc. Department of Defence Lynda Douglas  Member ACT
Peak/Advisory/Assoc. Regional Aviation Association of Australia Mike Higgins  Member ACT
Government Civil Aviation Safety Authority Michael McGill  Member ACT